OUR HISTORY

Bremen Missionary Church was established in 1932. The church was moved from the Tabernacle Church downtown in 1966 to a brand new building in the Goodings addition south of town. Progress continued with the construction of a new sanctuary in 1987. In 1995 a new, multipurpose building with a gym, kitchen and classrooms were added. In 2009 the building was made handicap accessible and a new office, library and several classrooms were added.

The Missionary Church was the name selected following the merger of the Missionary Church Association and the United Missionary Church in 1969. This was possible because both denominations were committed to preaching only what was in the Bible and to evangelizing the world. The United Missionary Church, known until 1947 as the Mennonite Brethren in Christ, was formed at a meeting near Dayton, Ohio, in 1883. It began, however, in the 1850s when a number of Mennonite ministers were dismissed from their former churches for having prayer meetings, holding revival services, and giving public testimonies. It was largely through the leadership of Daniel Brenneman and Solomon Eby that the denomination was organized. Joseph Ramseyer founded the Missionary Church Association after he was dismissed from his former denomination for wanting to be baptized by immersion as a born-again believer in Christ. Ramseyer continued to preach the message of God’s love through Jesus Christ as Savior, Sanctifier, Healer, and Coming King. In 1898, those who shared his convictions adopted the name “Missionary Church Association” because of their desire to evangelize the world.

Missionary Church History